Differentiated Learning: Remix, Reuse, Recycle

This week we were asked to read about the “maker movement” and learn about the “remix culture.”  I enjoyed listening to Dale Dougherty’s TED talk on the “maker movement”. I agree with him that we are all naturally “makers, ” but we just don’t realize it or stick with it. I like the idea of having a convention or program like the one he discusses that supports students and encourages them to play and invent. However, I enjoyed watching Kirby Feguson’s “Remix is Everything” four part series much more. I love what he does with songs and how he shows how they change (or stay the same) through time. The first part was especially cool because I love Led Zeppelin…I didn’t realize that people considered them a “rip-off.”

For our activity this week we had to use Mozilla Popcorn Maker to create a short, 1-minute remix video to convey an EdTech buzzword. I chose differentiated learning as my buzzword & decided to use Hollywood classrooms to complete my remix. Instead of typing out exact words or scenarios regarding differentiated instruction, I carefully selected classroom scenes from the YouTube video I remixed that displayed differentiated learning without coming right out and saying it. I think this method is more meaningful and relatable to viewers. I could have specifically shown examples, such as incorporating technology or I could have discussed the constant informal assessments occurring, but I think the clips speak for themselves. I feel like there are enough videos on the web that are made up of technical definitions, I wanted to remix my buzzword in a unique way.

As far as I understand, I can legally use all of the movie clips and songs in my video because I meet the transformativeness standard according to Fair Use Law and Creative Commons. That is, my work serves a different purpose and it is geared toward a different audience. I believe the films and songs were created for entertainment. I am using each clip and song in an educational context to inform my audience and help them understand what differentiated learning is in a meaningful, relatable way.

Moreover, Mozilla Popcorn Maker caused so many issues for me. I created and verified my account yesterday and spent about an hour researching and an hour playing. Miriam Posner’s blog post really helped me, although her layering instructions are backwards. I kept trying to keep the video file as layer 0. Wiki also had helpful instructions. Despite my research, I still found Mozilla Popcorn Maker to be a difficult program to use; perhaps because I am use to using programs like iMovie. Anyways, the real trouble using the program occurred today when I tried to save my remix. I was almost done with my remix this afternoon when Mozilla Popcorn Maker had an unexpected error and closed. It gave me the option to report the error, but my work was not saved. So, I had to start over… On my second attempt when I was completely finished I realized I couldn’t save my video. I was logged into my account, but the save button and share button were not clickable. When I hovered my mouse over the save button it told me to log in, but it showed that I was logged in and only had the option to sign out. Unfortunately, while I was playing I never tried to save any of the video creations I made. I tried logging in on a different computer, but I still had the same issue. I wonder if Safari is causing the issue. I read that it was a compactable browser in my research, though.  Currently I have no solution so I left the unsaved video open in a tab and used QuickTIme to record my screen. I uploaded that video to YouTube, but the quality isn’t great and the ending got cut off. I feel like I could have produced a better quality clip using iMovie in much less time. As of now, I am not a fan of Mozilla Popcorn Maker.

For Now: Differentiated Learning: Remix, Reuse, Recycle (poor quality bc I recorded my screen due to the issues I discussed above)

References

Ferguson, K. Everything is Remix. [Blog Post]. Retrieved from http://everythingisaremix.info/watch-the-series/

Floyd, M. (2012, November 19). Pink floyd-another brick in the wall. [Video File]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xpxd3pZAVHI

Hansen, T. (2013, March 17). Inclusion and differentiated instruction: Teachers in the movies do it too [Video File]. Retrieved from http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6rEy3Lqfio

Rich, F. (2010). They don’t care about us. [Music]. Retrieved from https://soundcloud.com/fifi-rich/they-dont-care-about-us-michael-jackson

Leave a Reply

