Network Learning Project: Playing a Song on an Acoustic Guitar

I have decided that I am going to learn to play a song on an acoustic guitar. I decided I wanted to learn to play an instrument because music is such an important part of my life. It is mood altering and uplifting. I am hoping that learning the guitar will be  a relaxing, fun outlet from everyday stresses. Learning to play will be particularly challenging for me because I have never played an instrument, unless you count the recorder, which I can still play.

There were several factors I had to consider when seeking sources and setting goals:

  • I don’t own a guitar, so I had to ask around to borrow one. Fortunately, the band teacher at the school I work at had one he was willing to share with me.
  • I had to consider what sources to use. I am a visual learner so I decided on help forums with pictures and there are several YouTube channels I have selected.
  • I don’t know how to read music so I had to find video tutorials and pictures from help forums that showed finger placement instead of music notes. Most videos on YouTube say the name of the chord as well as the number string it is.
  • I had to find a song that was appropriate for learning to play guitar. The song I chose is “Good Riddance” by Green Day. The song has 4 chords and two fingers stay on the same two chords the entire song. It seemed realistic and manageable, plus I really like the song.
  • I had to consider the time frame and set goals:
  1. Week 1: learn the vocabulary for parts of the guitar, learn to play the G-Chord, and learn the strumming pattern (rhythm).
  2. Week 2: learn finger placement for all four chords while strumming.
  3. Week 3: learn how to change my fingers between chords while strumming
  4. Week 4: Perfect the chords, finger placement, and strumming.
  5. Week 5: Perfect the song and add lyrics.
  6. Week 6: reflect on project and compile documentation.

My learning goal for this project: To learn the four basic chords & strumming pattern to play the song “Good Riddance” by Green Day on an acoustic guitar.

I am looking forward to the challenge and am excited to document my practice. My students are also excited for me. They requested a concert at the end of this project, haha.

One thought on “Network Learning Project: Playing a Song on an Acoustic Guitar

Leave a Reply

